Scientific Advisory Board – Hair growth

Scientific Advisory Board – Hair growth

Follicum has built up a qualified scientific advisory group that has experience and knowledge from both the hair research and drug development areas. Their purpose is to offer strategic advice on the company’s research, maximizing the development potential.

Members of the Board:

Anna Hultgårdh Nilsson

Professor Anna Hultgårdh Nilsson holds a PhD in Medical Cell Biology from the Karolinska Institute. After a post doc position at Cedars-Sinai Medical Centre, University of California Los Angeles she returned to the Karolinska Institute where she studied the importance of the vascular smooth muscle cell in the onset of atherosclerosis. In 1998 Professor Hultgårdh Nilsson moved to Lund University and has continued to analyze cell and molecular mechanisms in the atherosclerotic process. In 2011 she founded Follicum AB together with Pontus Dunér and LU Bioscience AB.

Amos Gilhar

Professor Amos Gilhar is Professor Emeritus at the Department of Medicine at the Technion Israel Institute of Technology. Professor Gilhar has worked in the field of immune dermatology for the last three decades, where he has been successful in developing humanized mouse models. These are used today in the pre-clinical trials for testing the efficacy of new drugs, especially in relation to the modulation of hair growth. His area of expertise includes research on skin autoimmune diseases such as alopecia areata.

Ralf Paus

Professor Ralf Paus is currently the Head of Experimental Dermatology at the University of Luebeck, Germany, and Professor of Cutaneous Medicine at the University of Manchester, UK. Professor Paus has studied the biology and pathology of the hair follicle for many years, and is a world leader in this field. Professor Paus is particularly interested in understanding the molecular mechanisms that control hair follicle function in the development of diseases such as alopecia.

Maria Kasper

Dr Maria Kasper is a research scientist at the Karolinska Institute in Sweden. Her research is focused on hair follicles, where she and her team study the molecular mechanisms behind the regulation of cell division. It is an excellent model for understanding both how cancer arises and how skin wounds heal. Dr Kasper has received several awards for her research, such as the Ragnar Söderberg’s Institute and the Cancer Foundation’s prize “Young Investigator Award”.

Jan Nilsson

Dr Jan Nilsson has been a Professor of Medicine at the Department of Clinical Sciences, Lund University since joining their faculty in 1998. Throughout his scientific career, his research has focused on the regulation of smooth muscle cell proliferation and the inflammatory response of the vascular wall to oxidized lipoprotein and mechanical injury. In recent years, his main research projects have focused on the role of immune responses against oxidized LDL antigens in atherosclerosis. He has published over 300 papers in vascular cell biology and atherosclerotic research. He is currently a member of the editorial board for Atherosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology and was elected member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in 2015.

Ulrike Blume-Peytavi

Dr Ulrike Blume-Peytavi is Professor and Executive Medical Director at the Department of Dermatology and Allergy, and a Director of the Clinical Research Centre for Hair and Skin Science (CRC) and the Paediatric Dermatology Unit at the Charité-Universitätsmedizin in Berlin, Germany. Her clinical research interests include contemporary dermatotherapy, hair disorders associated with hormonal dysregulation and paediatric dermatology.